Developmental Milestones

Developmental milestones are markers of a child’s development from infancy on into childhood. They are used to help determine if a child is undergoing typical development, meaning more than 75% of children can do them, versus if a child has delays in a given area or over multiple areas.

Typical developmental milestones fall into these categories:

  • Social & Emotional
  • Communication
  • Physical
  • Cognitive

You can use the charts below to look at the developmental milestones at age 2, 4, 6, 9, 12, 15, 18, 24, 30, 36, 48 and 60 months. You can also use a screening tool such as the Ages & Stages Questionnaires® (ASQ). The ASQ is available for free to CT families through the SPARKLER mobile app, there are registration codes for Southington.

If you are concerned about your child’s development, check out these State and local resources.